Saturday, March 13, 2010

RIP Paul Dunlap

Composer Paul Dunlap dies. Worked on classic sci-fi and horror pictures.


Paul Dunlap, a composer whose scores included such sci-fi and horror
classics as "The Angry Red Planet" and "I Was a Teenage Werewolf," died
of natural causes March 11 in Palm Springs, Calif. He was 90.

Dunlap launched his film-scoring career with a 1950 Sam Fuller film,
"The Baron of Arizona," and did four more for the director: "The Steel
Helmet," "Park Row," "Shock Corridor" and "The Naked Kiss." But he was
best known for his music for low-budget horror and sci-fi of the 1950s
and 1960s including "Lost Continent," "Target Earth," "I Was a Teenage
Frankenstein," "Blood of Dracula" and "Frankenstein 1970."

His more than 100 films included a number of '50s Westerns such as "The
San Francisco Story" and "The Oregon Trail," the John Wayne drama "Big
Jim McLain" and several 1960s Three Stooges comedies including "The
Three Stooges in Orbit," "The Three Stooges Go Around the World in a
Daze" and "The Outlaws Is Coming."

Dunlap was born in Springfield, Ohio, and studied with leading composers
Arnold Schoenberg, Ernst Toch and Nadia Boulanger. His classical
compositions included a piano concerto, a choral work entitled
"Celebration" and an opera, "Elektra XI."

Dunlap worked briefly in television, scoring episodes of "Have Gun --
Will Travel," "Gunsmoke" and "Schlitz Playhouse of Stars," among other

In the late 1960s he composed music for "Operation CIA," "Destination
Inner Space," "Cyborg 2087" and "Panic in the City." His last scores,
both in 1980, were for the comedy "Gorp" and the TV documentary "Sharks:
The Death Machine."

He is survived by a daughter. Donations may be made to the John Wayne
Cancer Institute. A memorial is slated for Sunday at Joshua Tree
Memorial Park.

DUNLAP, Paul William
Born: 7/19/1919, Springfield, Ohio, U.S.A.
Died: 3/11/2010, Palm Springs, California, U.S.A.

Paul Dunlap's westerns – composer, orchestrator:
The Baron of Arizona – 1950
Little Big Horn – 1951
The San Francisco Story – 1952
Hellgate – 1952
Fort Vengeance – 1953
Outlaw Territory – 1953
Jack Slade – 1953
The Gambler from Natchez – 1954 [orchestrator]
Stranger on Horseback – 1955
Robbers' Roost – 1955
The Return of Jack Slade – 1955
Fort Yuma – 1955
Last of the Desperados – 1955
The Wild Dakotas – 1956
Ghost Town – 1956
The Broken Star – 1956
The Three Outlaws – 1956
Frontier Gambler – 1956
Stagecoach to Fury – 1956
The Brass Legend – 1956
The Quiet Gun – 1957
Tales of Wells Fargo (TV) – 1957
Dragoon Wells Massacre – 1957
Apache Warrior – 1957
The Restless Gun (TV) – 1957
Oregon Passage – 1957
The Gray Ghost (TV) - 1957-1958
Gun Fever – 1958
Toughest Gun in Tombstone – 1958
Cimarron City (TV) – 1958
Frontier Gun – 1958
Lone Texan – 1958
The Oregon Trail – 1959
Gunsmoke (TV) – 1959
Have Gun – Will Travel (TV) – 1959
Gunfighters of Abilene – 1960
Walk Like a Dragon – 1960
Law of the Lawless – 1964
Stage to Thunder Rock – 1964
The Outlaws is Coming – 1965
Young Fury – 1965

No comments:

Post a Comment