Saturday, February 26, 2011

RIP Odón Alonso

Spanish composer, conductor Odón Alonso, who was currently the Director of Fall Musical Soriano with José Manuel Aceña died February 21, 2010, in Madrid. He was 85

During the closing of the Festival in its 2008 edition, the Mayor of Soria, Carlos Martinez, announced that one of the main squares of the city would receive the composer’s name.

Alonso had been "One of the most important Spanish conductors of the second half of the twentieth century" and conducted the National Orchestra of Spain, the Symphony Orchestra of SpanishRadio & Television (1968-1984), the Philharmonic Orchestra of Málaga (1995 -1999) and the Symphonic Orchestra of Madrid.

Alonso also composed the original scores for films like “Residencia para Espias "(1966) and “El Diablo que vino de Akasawa” (1971), both directed by Jesus Franco. Alonso composed scores for two Euro-westerns “The Coyote” (1955) and “The Justice of the Coyote” (1956). Odón awarded the Order of Isabel by the Catholic Church and the Gold Medal by UNICEF, among others, and in 1977 was named the best Spanish director of the year by the magazine Record World.

At the express wish of Odón  Alonso, his funeral will take place in Soria probably Tuesday.

ALONSO, Odón (Odón Alonso Ordas))
Born: 2/28/1925, La Bañeza, León, Spain
Died: 2/21/2011, Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Odón Alonso's westerns - composer: 
The Coyote - 1955
Justice of the Coyote - 1956

No comments:

Post a Comment