Monday, February 13, 2012

RIP Frank Braña

Death of Frank Braña , the Spanish actor who seldom appeared in the credits
The action film specialist, participated in hundreds of films shot in Spain.

 DAVID MARTOS 02/13/2012

Francisco Braña Perez was born in Pola de Allande, Asturias, Spain on February 24, 1934, then become 'Frank Brana', the stage name he chose to appear on the big screen with Clint Eastwood and Charlton Heston. However, his name was not in the credits in those colorful yellow letters called 'Spaghetti westerns'. No. He considered his profession, "a job" - was left to the action scenes, fights, and basically the death scenes, were perfect. That was his specialty: 'Death with dignity in the cinema', the title he chose for his autobiography.

In a press release, AISGE [Performers Management Society] reported the death Monday February 13, 2012 at the age 77 Frank Brana, from the mortuary chapel of Carr, in Madrid. He began his professional life in the mines, was excluded from the Army, and ended up working as a driver in Madrid. "I got the opportunity to work as a chauffeur for a man in Madrid. He told me of some screen tests to work in films, as a specialist. They asked if I could ride a horse and I said yes, but not entirely true. .. ", he says in his book.

His first small role, small, was in “Café de Chinitas” (1960). He then went from there to appearing with Charlton Heston and Clint Eastwood and Charlton Heston ... That was a huge step. Frank participated in “King of Kings” (1960) as a Roman soldier with Carmen Sevilla, “A Fistful of Dollars” (1964) “A Few Dollars More” (1965) as Blackie. In the sixties and seventies, Hollywood greats were leaving. One of his last roles, this time with text, was that of Don Luis in “Tiovivo c. 1950” by José Luis Garci. 

BRANA, Frank (Francisco Braña Pérez)
Born: 2/24/1934, Pola de Allande, Asturias, Spain
Died: 2/13/2012, Madrid, Madrid, Spain

Frank Brana’s westerns – actor, stuntman:
Cavalry Charge – 1964
A Fistful of Dollars – 1964 (Baxter gang member)
Ride and Kill – 1964 (driver)
Apache Fury – 1964 (Burt henchman)
Two Violent Men – 1964
Tomb of the Pistolero – 1964 (Black Rider)
Murieta – 1965 (rapist)
The Last Tomahawk – 1965 (corporal)
Massacre at Fort Grant – 1965 (John)
Sunscorched – 1965
For a Few Dollars More – 1965 (Blackie)
Adiós Gringo – 1965 (Ranchester henchman)
A Coffin for the Sheriff – 1965 (Rojo/Wolf henchman)
Django Does Not Forgive – 1966 (killer)
Ringo from Nebraska – 1966 (Dickson)
The Big Gundown – 1966 (Widow’s ranch hand)
The Good, the Bad and the Ugly – 1966 (bounty hunter)
The Texican – 1966 (Marshal Vic)
The Ugly Ones – 1967
For a Few Bullets More – 1967 (teamster)
Django Kill! – 1967 (Tembler’s henchman)
Rattler Kid – 1967 (Tom)
God Forgives… I Don’t! – 1967 (Lou)
Face to Face – 1967 (Jason)
Sugar Colt – 1967 (Haberbrook henchman)
15 Scaffolds for a Killer – 1968 (Adam)
Ringo the Lone Rider – 1968 (Juez)
All Out – 1968
I Want Him Dead – 1968 (Berger)
Pistol for 100 Coffins – 1968 (Joe)
The Secret of Captain O’Hara – 1968 (Henry)
And for a Roof Full of Stars for a Roof – 1968
Ace High – 1968 (Harold henchman)
Once Upon a Time in the West – 1968 (Frank’s henchman)
Zorro the Lawman – 1969 (Dominguez)
Death on High Mountain – 1969
Outlaw of Red River – 1969 (bandido)
Garringo – 1969 (Bill)
Cowards Don’t Pray – 1969
The Price of Power – 1969 (Mortimer)
When Satan Grips the Colt – 1970 (outlaw)
Gunman in Town – 1970 (‘One Eye’/Sam Putnam)
Vamos a matar Sartana – 1971
A Bullet for a Stranger – 1971
The Buzzards and Crows Will Dig Your Grave – 1972 (Glenn Kovacs)
The Boldest Job in the West – 1972 (Sergeant Jess Calloway)
Kill the Poker Player – 1972 (Sheriff Luis Burton)
The Prey of Vultures – 1972
God in Heaven… Arizona on Earth – 1972 (Austin Styles)
Bad Man’s River - 1972
3 Supermen of the West – 1973 (Brad)
Yankee Dudler – 1973 (gunman)
Demasiados muertos para Tex - 1973
Fasthand is Still My Name 1973 (Quintano/Quincy)
Dallas – 1974
If You Shoot You Live – 1975 (Marco)
In the Name of the Father, of the Son and of the Colt – 1975 (Judge Finley)
Whisky and Ghosts – 1975
The Black Wolf – 1981 (Teodoro)
Revenge of the Black Wolf – 1981 (Teodoro)
Yellow Hair and the Fortress of Gold – 1984 (sergeant)
Tex and the Lord of the Deep – 1985 (Mr. Bedford)

No comments:

Post a Comment